Authentic

Leave a comment

August 13, 2017 by AJ Briones

I don’t want a Church that’s all dressed up with cool equipment, artists, or awesome/well-known preachers. I don’t want a big or popular one. What do I want? A Church that has genuine/authentic desire to be a part of my life as I grow with Jesus and the community. People who are genuinely there and not because it’s “duty”. A Church that follows the Bible and Jesus, not any popular preacher or dividing ideology. A Church that knows how to listen and not trigger happy to judge. A Church that values relationships beyond the building/center/event – connects to ordinary life. A Church that isn’t about building an album or setting up an amazing band. A Church that understands and makes and effort to understand all sides before being hyperactive to offense. A Church that focuses on the people rather than the colors of an event. A Church that want me to be a part of the family and have me as a friend, not a part of the big list of disciples. A Church that knows that people are different – that there are different strokes for different folks. A Church where people actually knows you and not simply smile when they see you because you’re from “Church”. A Church that’s willing to offend or hurt me in order to correct me but knows that there is a proper way of doing so. I want to be a part of something, not an attachment or accessory.

I’ve seen too many battles. Received so many spoils or medals for war. I’ve already acquired so many scars. I’m tired. I’m so tired.

Leave a Reply

