Money Heart

Leave a comment

December 21, 2014 by AJ Briones

I am not that sure if I was ever able to write something about money during the earlierimages years of this blog but here I am now. I am about to attempt to write something worthwhile about the topic of money.

Almost half a year from now I started working at a sales company here in the Philippines. This is actually my second attempt to enter the world of sales that I indeed disliked because of the emphasis of money. I believed and always wanted to be successful but I never equated it to money. Partly, I get easier burned out when it comes to an environment saturated with people who are money focused; generally, sales.

The biggest irony of all is that I am working as a corporate training head at the sales company and one of my primary purposes in the company is to train people be ready to do sales and continuously get motivated to get products sold and earn money. It was the last facet of training that I was not yet able to enter primarily because I would usually stray away from the field when I was younger. By the way, what went on within my head that eventually caused me to enter the world of sales again? I guess that was to redeem my own concept of money and be able to penetrate the world of sales and try to pass on what I believed in about money. I felt like a Jonah (Book of Jonah) in the Bible. He was not willing to go to the Assyrian capital of Nineveh but the Lord pushed him back and made him realize that he had to go what God called him to do. And so, I am here today in the world of sales believing that the unchanging God can changed the changing world of sales.

Essentially, when I talk to sales people, there is only one this I emphasize and that’s the purpose beyond the medium. People desire money for a specific purpose and that may be to build a better future, provide for the family, support the sick, create a shift in life standing or something like that stuff. The point is that people have an initial purpose to desire to earn, “win”, and receive money but sadly a lot in the process of doing so forget that there was that purpose. People go on living trying to earn more trying to reach a goal but the world feeds that up into a burst of wanting to gain more and then not realizing that there was an actually reason to earn more. The Bible says, “For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil.” (1st Timothy 6:10, NIV). It didn’t say “For money.” I said for the love of money and sadly, the pursuit of a better future by many has become an endless search of bottomless credit limit, untouched savings accounts and wallets filled with newly printed cash. Well, here in the Philippines, a lot of people consider newly printed money more valuable than old crumpled ones. Why you may ask? Well, I have no idea. People simply have loved money and made it a source of life instead of God’s grace, mercy and love.

As I end this, I have one message I’d like to convey. I do not desire to be as the Filipino culture would say “plastic.” Money is useful and indeed needed as a medium of exchange in the modern world. Without money, I would or might die because of hunger because almost everything is for sale nowadays. Sadly, charity isn’t that much of a good trait of Filipinos. We love charity. It has helped our people from Leyte, Samar, Mindoro and Cagayan de Oro but to give out and be charitable? That’s another story. That’s another topic hopefully we’d be able to talk about in the future. Again, the point is that money should be for something and not for nothing. We have to remember the love of the purpose of which we need money and not to love money as if it was as vital as the air we breathe. Money is not the God who is gracious, merciful and loving. Money is a tool that humanity built up as a medium of exchange that God uses to teach us what true riches are. Job 1:21 (NIV) says, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart.” We can never store up riches that we can carry to eternal dwelling nor can we build something like a structure or legacy big enough to earn true salvation. Money can never bridge us to God. A “MONEY HEART” will tear apart in the very presence of God. As I end, I’d like to share what the 1st book of Timothy says about money. I hope that we can learn from it and receive a picture of how should we approach the topic of money.

These are the things you are to teach and insist on. If anyone teaches otherwise and does not agree to the sound instruction of our Lord Jesus Christ and to godly teaching, they are conceited and understand nothing. They have an unhealthy interest in controversies and quarrels about words that result in envy, strife, malicious talk, evil suspicions and constant friction between people of corrupt mind, who have been robbed of the truth and who think that godliness is a means to financial gain. But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.

Let go of the MONEY HEART – A golden heart made out of a heart hard as stone; a love of money. We may get dazzling because of the glamour that money can give us. We may look outside as precious as gold but in the end melt away in the fiery heat of the seduction of the world. Do not be afraid because change is possible and what’s good is that ability to change was installed by someone who is unchanging. It is never too late. As Ezekiel 36:26 (NIV) makes mention, “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.”

Leave a Reply

