Question for the MMDA

Leave a comment

June 11, 2014 by AJ Briones

I think that this will be the 1st time ever that I would rant using my website and I’ll makeMainPic8 this very short. Why are the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Traffic Officials like that? Again-and-again in different locations such as Ortigas Extension and Quezon City you would see them hiding somewhere in order to conceal their whereabouts. They hide and wait until a violator shows his fangs to bite on beating the red light, swerve or go straight on a strictly left turn only slot. When they see a violator, they would suddenly reappear to the scene and stops the driver to give him a ticket or some would do even more than that. Why do they do that? Aren’t they supposed to be visible in order for people to follow the rules? Yes, there should be autonomy in following the law/rules but why does it look like they are setting up traps for people to violate instead of being visible in order for the drivers to know and remember that they should be following traffic regulations? I just don’t understand and as a person who believes in change, I would like to refuse to believe that they are doing as such to get money (kotong in Filipino terminology) from the alleged violator. Well, I don’t know. I just hope that they would have changes to this style of managing traffic. It isn’t helping. To be fair, I am admiring Francis Tolentino, their new Chairman. He’s doing a great job (in my opinion) but I would very much like to see that MARANGAL, MATAPAT and DISIPLINADO AKO tagline that they are flaunting on their emblem.

Leave a Reply

