Dosage of Empathy

Leave a comment

January 7, 2014 by AJ Briones

I recently changed my twitter and facebook profile images into this because it was 1510830_568504633238999_1836411411_nimpressed to me that if there was something I wanted to pray for myself this year, it would be this: I have been so much of an impatient person when it comes to trying to understand people unconditionally. Yes, I do know how to empathize but there are times that it is hard. I want to understand people. I need to understand people. I am not here to judge anyone of fight back when someone attacks me (as would usually happen), I have to stand and take the offense and move on even if I’m right or “innocent.” I have to start and taking a dosage of empathy and start putting myself in the shoes of others, trying to understand that people may have their reasons or may be going through something that caused them to do things, react to things or say things in such a manner that is contrary to what I or the general know is right. The world is twisted and I can’t expect it to get any straighter. All I can do is empathize and continue on living as God pleases me to live. I will get offended but I still have to choose to move on and do what is right. The world will change, not by my hands but by God’s hands alone.

Dealing with other people may be difficult but those kinds of challenges help us grow and understand more about how to act and react on difficult situations.

Leave a Reply

