The Church is doing its Job

Leave a comment

November 16, 2013 by AJ Briones

Was scanning through my old blog and I was able to browse this article I wrote about two years ago. Here’s a re-post of it. I hope that you guys would also get something from this. Though, I have to remind all of you that whatever I write is based on my personal experiences and revelations. Everyone is free to agree or disagree but with a reminder to never forget the essence of what it means to respect one another. So, here it goes…

Had a conversation with a friend and we discussed a number of issues within our group. It was really hard to talk to him in a Christian way and that it was really hard for me to communicate with him because of my human nature which is to decide to dwell in anger towards somebody. I had to decide to communicate with him as a Christian brother.

One thing that went into our discussion was his negative feelings concerning what was happening. He said that not only in the Church but also in the ministry, people have been seeing me in a gloomy disposition. It bothered him that I was in the Church and that I am looking so down and not myself. Hearing him made me think for a while and view what was a Church all about. It made me wonder and try to recall what I have learned about what it means to be a part of a spiritual family.

For years we have been fed in the Church to be fishers; that the Church was there to intentionally reach out those who were lost, that the Church was not for the saved but for those who were lost (Matthew 9:12, Mark 2:17, and Luke 5:31). We were all called to go and make disciples (Matthew 28:19).  The idea was so clear. We had to be with the Church in intentionally reaching those who were lost. This includes being at our best or looking in a way that would be inviting to people because we needed to reach out (1 Corinthians 9:19-23). How can we reach out people if we are not looking good or inviting for them?

Is that the true essence of what a Church can be? Is that all that we can do? Is that all that the Church has to offer? To be reached out in order to reach out others? Can we get more out of our spiritual family? I have given it thought and it brought me back to Matthew 9:12, Mark 2:17 and Luke 5:31. There was a word there that was so significant in understanding what we are to do as a Church aside from reaching out the lost. It’s the word SICK.

Sick or Sickness, let’s define that; it means to be afflicted with ill health or disease or this would be an interesting definition to it; deeply affected with some unpleasant feeling, as of sorrow, disgust, or boredom.

Is it only the lost that experience these? Christians are not always in a good condition. We are still humans. There will always be down days. Days that may be so hard even for Christians and you know what? Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. That was a statement found on the book of Matthew Chapter 11 verse 28. I guess that answers it.

If you are down and people would ask you why, there is a simple answer to it. THE CHURCH IS DOING ITS JOB. The Church is there to encourage you (Hebrews 10:25) are well and not just for the lost.

Leave a Reply

