Opinion: What Generation?

Leave a comment

September 24, 2012 by AJ Briones

If you would ask me if I am passionate about the next generation, I would most probably say yes… but I can never honestly say that reaching the next generation is more important for me to reach than the generation I belonged to. A lot of us have grown in the great mind-set that we are responsible for the next generation as Proverbs 22:6 says. Youth ministries sprout everywhere training young people to lead, share and evangelize other young people to Jesus. A lot of those who we have reached out may have belonged to families with either or both parents not following Jesus. And when the generation passes, what will happen to those not reached? Will there still be people out there to reach them since we are all so fascinated with the thought of reaching the next in line; the next leaders of the next generation as they may call them? This is my honest opinion in the matter.

Matthew 28:19-20 New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in[a] the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

I don’t really know if I am supposed to do as some does. But what I know is that my generations regardless of its time is still in or has already passed still matters. I urge everyone right now to go out there and reach the next generation but with the reminder that we are called to reach all nations; and that includes the generation we belong to as well. OUR GENERATION MATTERS. LET’S MAKE IT COUNT. As far as I am concerned, I don’t want anyone from my own ranks to get left behind as everyone advances forward.

Leave a Reply

